Am I missing something here?

anon(5383410)

Nov 16, 2012
Visit site
I own an Xbox one but dont play it that often so I'm far from an expert on the ins and outs of it. That being said, from what Im seeing I looks like the Xbox downloads my game to the hard drive even if I have a physical copy?

Fine, but then why does it promo me to enter the disc when I try to play it from the "apps and games" section if it downloaded it?

ncxcstud

Dec 16, 2010
Visit site
Because that's how it verifies that you're an owner. If you didn't need the disc (in the X1 current state) people would buy/rent games and turn them back in for a refund.

The way the XBOX One was Originally designed - you wouldn't have needed the disc after it installs (it doesn't 'download' the game when you have the disc). However, you would need to always connect it to the internet so that it could make a 'verification check' online once a day.

If you have subscribed to EA Access and own any of the currently 4 offered games (FIFA14, Madden 25, Battlefield 4, Peggle 2) on disc - you don't need to put the disc in anymore (while you're subscribed that is).

anon(5383410)

Nov 16, 2012
Visit site
Because that's how it verifies that you're an owner. If you didn't need the disc (in the X1 current state) people would buy/rent games and turn them back in for a refund.

The way the XBOX One was Originally designed - you wouldn't have needed the disc after it installs (it doesn't 'download' the game when you have the disc). However, you would need to always connect it to the internet so that it could make a 'verification check' online once a day.

If you have subscribed to EA Access and own any of the currently 4 offered games (FIFA14, Madden 25, Battlefield 4, Peggle 2) on disc - you don't need to put the disc in anymore (while you're subscribed that is).