Another new XBox One owner with questions...

kenjancef

Dec 2, 2014
Visit site
So my wife and I bit the bullet and got my 8-year-old son an Xbox One (without Kinect) for Christmas. So I had a few questions:

(disclaimer: I am a computer tech and I know my way around computers and home theater...)

1. What is the benefit of passing my Verizon DVR box through the Xbox? Will it be easy to use to watch regular TV? For me it doesn't matter, but my wife is pretty computer/device illiterate, so it has to be easy... lol..

2. After setting up the Xbox and having it keep asking me to sign up for Xbox Live, I decided to. That was the day after Christmas. So Yesterday I find out that I can create a child account within my own Microsoft account, which would make it easier for him to use the Xbox and have things in his name. How does this affect Xbox Live? do I have to shell out another $60 for his account? Or does this work with any account under my main Microsoft account?

Hope someone can help...

Justin Pearson

Nov 28, 2015
Visit site
1. It can be worth it if you don't want to bother with changing from the Xbox to the cable box. Easier? Na. Maybe slightly convenient.

2. As long as you set the Xbox to being your home console everyone on it has access to your games and can use Live.

kenjancef

Dec 2, 2014
Visit site
1. It can be worth it if you don't want to bother with changing from the Xbox to the cable box. Easier? Na. Maybe slightly convenient.

Yea, gotta be easy... lol... but not for me. I'll keep it hooked up as it is: HDMI to my receiver, then HDMI out to my TV.

2. As long as you set the Xbox to being your home console everyone on it has access to your games and can use Live.

I assume that's how it is by default... I'll only have one XBox...

Thanks for the reply...

kenjancef

Dec 2, 2014
Visit site