Legacy PHones no Apollo Update, will get 7.8 update

Status
Not open for further replies.

cckgz4

Aug 30, 2011
Visit site
Well, I am a developer and I agree with the original poster, not your analysis. For our Android stuff, we start with Gingerbread, not ICS. Why? Bigger market. We then port to ICS and then finally for tablets.

For the Windows stuff, however, there is a difference. From what I've seen, I don't think we'll have to even do that- it appears there are a number of compile targets that mean I'll just have to click what I want to compile for : WP7/WP8/Win8/Win8RT. If I have to change a dozen lines of code, I'll just compile for them all. At least currently our Win8 code seems to be pretty easy to move to WP7 so I don't know why we wouldn't just keep doing that.

PEOPLE, if you haven't read anything in this topic, YOU NEED TO READ THIS!

And I thank you

HeyCori

Mod Emeritus
Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
In the 2 years leading up to today's announcement...

Users: "Windows Phone needs dual core, HD screens, NFC, removable storage, and first class hardware."

Microsoft: "Okay, here's your dual core, HD, NFC, removable storage, and a list of dedicated hardware partners."

Users: "But the old hardware can do everything the new hardware can, right"

Microsoft:
13222309185683.gif

Daniel Ratcliffe

Dec 5, 2011
Visit site
Well, I am a developer and I agree with the original poster, not your analysis. For our Android stuff, we start with Gingerbread, not ICS. Why? Bigger market. We then port to ICS and then finally for tablets.