Regarding the new SDK and its possibilities

Solidstate89

May 22, 2011
Visit site
I'm sure this question has been posed here many times already (I've made several comments regarding it) but this one is slightly different and it goes out to the developers who have looked and worked with the SDK.

We all already know now that VPN support was not added into WP8. A disappointment to say the least. However my question is this; does the SDK and the current available APIs allow for third party VPN apps to be developed and released? Is it possible for you developers to tie into the networking stack in order to create third party VPN solutions to submit to the Marketplace; or are the necessary networking APIs just simply not available to you?

If I was a programmer myself I could probably answer my own question, but I'm hoping that this question reaches the ears (or I guess in this case - eyes) of the individuals who have had a look at the now-released SDK and can hopefully answer this final question of mine. One way or another.

firstness

Nov 1, 2012
Visit site
This page mentions some of the networking features in the WP8 SDK:

What's new in the SDK

Unfortunately I don't know enough about WP8 programming to be able to tell you whether a VPN app would be possible.

Incoming sockets

Windows Phone 8 introduces the enhancements to incoming sockets. System.Net.Sockets and Windows.Networking.Sockets both support incoming sockets, which means your app can listen for an incoming network connection, and then bind to that connection.

Support for IPv6

Support for the 128-bit addressing system for devices on a network has been added to System.Net.Sockets, and also is supported in Windows.Networking.Sockets.

Windows.Net.Networking