Email dumb questions

GraemeT

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site
I feel really, really stupid for asking this but I'm at a loss. I hope you can all help. I've just set up email on my 820 with my ISP but with a unique address as I want a dedicated one for my phone. I've never used email on a phone before but it seems to have gone okay, sort of. I got a conformation email on the phone from my ISP saying that my new address had been set up successfully. I can send emails from my phone to my PC and they appear almost instantaneously. However, I've had no luck sending emails from my PC to my phone! The trouble is, I don't know if something's gone wrong that way round or I just don't know what I'm doing.

Okay, here come the embarrassing questions. How do I check for incoming mail??? Is the "sync" button like send/receive on a PC email client? If it is, I've tapped it no end of times and nothing's appeared. Or do you have to wait for the "Download new content" in "sync settings" to do it's thing? I've set that to 15 minutes and waited way beyond that and still nothing's appeared. WiFi is enabled and looks fine. I know email can get through because I got that one from my ISP, but where are my test emails from my PC? I'm baffled. I would've finished this post off with copious embarrassed smilies if I could have found them!

rimlover

Nov 24, 2012
Visit site
i'm not sure what's going on but the 'sync' button to my knowledge is to sync the phone with the server. so in a way it is similar to send/receive. in the settings change it from 15 min to "as items arrive" that will use push so it will save your battery and data because your phone wont sync your email if nothing changed. best of luck though.

GraemeT

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site