Cannot debug with Visual Studio 2012 Express (No Hyper-V)

arthurwalasek

Jul 18, 2013
Visit site
I am new to Visual Studio 2012 and Windows Phone development. I can successfully build (with Visual Studio) and deploy (with Application Deployment program) my application to a windows phone 8. However, I cannot debug, breakpoint, etc from within Visual Studio. There is no "Device" debug target (in fact my only target says "Start" - which doesn't work). I do not have capabilities on this machine to run the emulator (no SLAT), but I was under the impression that I should still be able to debug on the device.

What am I doing wrong.???

This is a basic Visual Studio 2012 Express for Windows 8 Phone development environment...

Please help :)

Jnbs

Mar 20, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Visual Studio 2012 and Windows Phone development. I can successfully build (with Visual Studio) and deploy (with Application Deployment program) my application to a windows phone 8. However, I cannot debug, breakpoint, etc from within Visual Studio. There is no "Device" debug target (in fact my only target says "Start" - which doesn't work). I do not have capabilities on this machine to run the emulator (no SLAT), but I was under the impression that I should still be able to debug on the device.

What am I doing wrong.???

This is a basic Visual Studio 2012 Express for Windows 8 Phone development environment...

Please help :)

Without the emulator, you are not able to debug unless you have a device.. Also, are you sure that you downloaded the correct package. https://dev.windowsphone.com/en-us/downloadsdk .. Double check maybe you have just VS 2012 Express and not the SDK + VS 2012 Express for Windows Phone

arthurwalasek

Jul 18, 2013
Visit site