So I have an App idea...

bitwise

Nov 9, 2012
Visit site
Last night, I was toying with an app idea and I've basically figured out the design and the concept.

Only problem is, I have no experience with app development. Of course, I can always just study and do it on my own, but that will take a lot of time.

My question is what is the best way to go about this? How do you "sell" an app idea to a developer and a designer? And what will the ownership of the app be like?

Also, if there are developers out there who are interested to hear me out and looking for an app project, I am willing to collaborate. I am a software engineer myself, but I only deal with embedded systems programming.

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
I've moved this thread to the Developers Corner forum, since developers should be able to answer your questions better than regular users.

Good luck. :smile:

bitwise

Nov 9, 2012
Visit site
I've moved this thread to the Developers Corner forum, since developers should be able to answer your questions better than regular users.

Good luck. :smile:

Hi. Thanks. I guess I was confused where to put it.

Is it complex enough where you feel it would be too expensive to outsource?

How do you rate the complexity of an app anyway?
But I think your question is what I am also seeking. I want to have an initial assessment from actual developers.

A bit of an update though: I realized that I actually have a friend who develops app for a living (for iOS though). I've already written down the basic specifics of my app idea and shared it with him. I am just waiting for his reply.
Actually I see the app to be cross-platform but I specifically mentioned to my friend that I want a simultaneous release for iOS and WP at least. :p

jbigelow

May 14, 2013
Visit site
How do you rate the complexity of an app anyway?
But I think your question is what I am also seeking. I want to have an initial assessment from actual developers.