dinicaandrei0

Apr 29, 2019
Visit site
Hei guys,

I'm an electrical engineering student and right now looking for a new laptop.
I was thinking about the 2017 macbook pro but i'm nota sure if it will worth the money. What do You think? Have You any Windows sugestions?
P.S: I will also do coding in that laptop.

pkcable

VR Expert
Jul 3, 2009
Visit site
It could work, but you will get more bang for your buck going PC. Both Dell and HP are running holiday sales right now. You might also find Apple is having a sale, probably at Best Buy.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Check to see whether your program has any specific requirements. I, in business, did not, but some peers in engineering at another university did.

Beyond that, a lot of laptops will work for you. I made do with a 2008 ThinkPad through senior year and it saw a boatload of coding. (the last year or so)

Of course, you aren't looking for a $40 bargain bin special so that's not what you want.

First decide whether you want a Mac or not. macOS is nice but you have only a handful of hardware choices and you have to decide whether the pros/cons of those are worth it. For what it's worth, I'd recommend insurance unless you're generally careful with your things.

A lot of applications I had to use in college were Windows only and while it was no problem for me, being a huge dork with a Mac that had a lot of RAM, it may pose an issue if you don't want to deal with switching OSes or handling virtual machines.

And then we get to budget. Some peers got a $300 Dell Inspiron special when they needed something that day and those worked fine. I wouldn't expect them to last all four years, but they were solid stopgap measures that would last if babied.

spicypadthai

Feb 27, 2014
Visit site