For those that of us that manage Windows Phone in SMB/Enterprise - Frustration

macgyverated

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
MS has at times marketed their Windows Phone as a great solution for businesses. And I don't entirely disagree with that sentiment. I know as an IT professional I am much happier now having switched our entire operation to Windows Phone 3 years ago, than I was when we were a mixed iPhone/Android shop. My users are happier too.

That being said, let me run something down for you that causes me a lot of frustration.

I have roughly 4 dozen Windows Phones deployed to employees. Some of those are in the hands of upper management that I can trust to do the right things with them just because I ask them to. Namely avoid apps that may be dangerous or data hogs, and not use the devices to unnecessarily stream video and audio and run up our monthly cellular bill. Some are in the hands of sales people that must be baby-sat on a regular basis to ensure they do the right thing. But about 3 dozen of the rest are in the hands of a bunch of non-tech, non-English-speaking immigrants who work in construction and quite honestly can't be trusted to use the devices in the desired manner. Not due to any malicious intent, but because they understand so little of how the devices work that they don't understand simple concepts like the fact that the internet is not "installed" on the phone, or when they are using cellular data vs. when they are not.

Now that I have set the stage for my environment and users. I'll tell you what irks me about what it takes to make sure my users don't go nuts with the phones.

I have to have some kind of MDM (mobile device management) to control the phones and keep users from downloading unwanted apps and such.
In effect, I have to have this so that I can lock the phones down and only "white list" certain allowed apps.

Here's what it takes to do that: