specs upgraded for surface pro 2 from i5 4200u to 4300

maclancer

Dec 29, 2013
Visit site
If I was you I would buy the surface pro from last year and instead of 125gb get the 256gb... You will also save some money.

MBytes

Oct 28, 2013
Visit site
No, don't buy the old Surface Pro, unless you'll be plugged in all the time. The battery life is terrible of the old one. The Pro 2 is acceptable.
The performance different is marginal... its only 300MHz using the same CPU architecture, and Intel GPU.
The newer model is most likely die that Intel discontinued the current Surface Pro 2 CPU, as the 4300 cost the same, has the same power consumption, and heat produced.... so there are no reason for the 4200 anymore.

raxy21

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
I don't want to buy surface pro as it has terrible battery life, as im planning to use my SP2 for note taking in my classroom im a medical student in India, im planning to use it for long period like 3-4 years, so does this upgraded spec cpu will it be use full ? If it is then how to get it? Does it has any differently packed?

raxy21

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
No, don't buy the old Surface Pro, unless you'll be plugged in all the time. The battery life is terrible of the old one. The Pro 2 is acceptable.
The performance different is marginal... its only 300MHz using the same CPU architecture, and Intel GPU.
The newer model is most likely die that Intel discontinued the current Surface Pro 2 CPU, as the 4300 cost the same, has the same power consumption, and heat produced.... so there are no reason for the 4200 anymore.

if i get surface pro 2 from Microsoft center, will it be the new one? Please answer as im leaving to India with in 1week.��

MBytes

Oct 28, 2013
Visit site
After some testing, the CPU is locked at 2.5 or 2.6GHz.. it won't go up to 2.9GHz. So it is official.... 0 difference.
There is nothing to identify it.
We don't know for sure, if Microsoft is using both CPUs to meet demand or switch to the faster one.

raxy21