Why isn't my Lumia 1520 microphone working?

sinic999

Oct 7, 2013
Visit site
Lumia 1520 microphone is not working

Recently whenever someone calls me, they are unable to hear and claimed that my phone's microphone is not working. However, when i try recording and used a hardware test app, the mic is working fine. In addition, cortana is unable to hear anything that I said.

Is this a hardware or software problem??

Bob Ferrell

Oct 14, 2015
Visit site
Re: Lumia 1520 microphone is not working

So I have been searching the internet for a solution from software to hardware. My problem like yours was no one could hear me thru the microphone and Cortana could not hear me either. I could make calls using the speaker phone option. My solution was replacing the Microphone assembly. I've never done any teardown like this before but did it on my own and now my phone is like new. Bought the Microphone assembly on e-bay for $19.94, the seller was "fix2save" and it did save my phone. Taking apart the Lumia 1520 was found on youtube using the replacing the screen video you just stop when they are taking off the microphone part. Good luck and I hope this helps.

Steve Thackery

Jun 23, 2015
Visit site
Yep, I can confirm Bob's solution. This is a very common fault on the 1520 - the ribbon cable that feeds the bottom mic is incredibly delicate. Replacing the entire assembly - which has the ribbon cable attached - will sort it out and it's cheap.

robnewton

Sep 30, 2012
Visit site
I had this issue, mine was a faulty headphone socket. something must have been stuck inside it, keeping the phone in headset mode.

Hector Pons

Apr 9, 2013
Visit site
Re: Lumia 1520 microphone is not working

Specweapon replied on December 16, 2015

Accomplishments

In reply to FlappetteRides Again's post on November 9, 2015