Lumia 820 - only able to connect to Internet via wifi

wake6

Nov 26, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Windows phone having bought a Nokia Lumia 820 on pay as you go from O2 (in the UK) 3 days ago. Love the phone so far but I have a problem. I can browse the Internet and download e-mail fine when connected to the Internet via wifi.

But when I leave the house I am unable to although I can make calls and send texts OK. Internet Explorer gives the error "cannot find server or DNS error". E-mail gives the error "we're having a problem downloading messages. Make sure you have a connection and your account information is correct, then try again. Error code: 80072F30".

Under settings/system/mobile network I have data connection set to "on".

I have tried Google searches and searching this forum but cannot find the answer. Please forgive me if this is a stupid question or if it is answered elsewhere. Help greatly received.

Thank you

Rob Morgan

Nov 11, 2012
Visit site
Try running the Nokia Setup application that should be on your phone, this should then populate all the correct APN and mobile network settings in your Nokia 820. Also make sure your PAYG SIM is data enabled, sometimes they aren't by default so you don't use up all our PAYG credit without realising.

wake6

Nov 26, 2012
Visit site
Thank you Rob. I couldn't find the Nokia set up but a bit of Googling on APNs led me to settings/access point where I selected "O2 - UK prepaid" and now it all works.

I remember now that when I got my Android phone 2? yrs ago on O2 pay as you go I had the same problem until I manually entered a different APN.

Thank you.

eohall1

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site
Hi I cannot find anything on how to set my apn its an absolute nightmare! Can you help? do you remember exactly what you did to set it up?

Dec 29, 2012
Visit site
Create a new Internet APN called O2 manual.
The access point is either: payandgo.o2.co.uk or wap.o2.co.uk
the username is either: payandgo or o2wap
Leave password blank