SharePoint links loading app, not browser

Kevin Blount

Jan 22, 2013
Visit site
I'm not a Windows Phone user or developer myself, but I am a developer for a SharePoint site. This site is a public facing, marketing/support SharePoint 2010 site with Publishing enabled, for customers and prospective customers alike. We're finding an issue specifically with Windows 8 phones, which is why I'm coming here to ask this question (as well as SharePoint sites).

Basically, if we send an email to someone containing a link to a page on our HTTPS website, and that user uses 'regular' email on their Windows 8 phone, then Office hub launches a SharePoint app, instead of a browser. We're finding that the app is then showing internal lists instead of the published pages that the link points to. i.e. let's say the link is https://root/foobar/Pages/blah.aspx, the Office hub app shows the internal lists (workflow tasks, documents, etc.) for the 'foobar' site, instead of the 'blah.aspx' page.

We're looking to see what Windows Phone 8/Office hub email uses to determine if a link is from a SharePoint site or not. Or, what with SharePoint we can turn off/disable to stop Office hub recognizing a link as SharePoint, so that visitors to our site will see the correctly published page instead of the site with internal (and potentially confidential) lists.

We know that Office hub can be configured to opening SharePoint links in a browser, but this means that ALL SharePoint sites would be impacted, not just ours, and we cannot expect new visitors to our site to know they have to do this before coming to our site.

Can any offer any insight into how Office hub knows a link is for a SharePoint site? or any other advice/options for investigation?

Cheers

Kevin

dootndo2

Jan 4, 2013
Visit site
I am a SharePoint developer that works on a public SharePoint portal. On the phone, the default configuration is to open it with the Office Hub.

Go to Settings --> Applications --> Office