Advice needed: touchscreen monitors

AaHaa

Oct 15, 2012
Visit site
Hi all,

So, my old 23 inch secondary monitor died a few days back. I'm still mourning, but I'm also browsing for a new one. I'm a freelance artist, so the obvious choice would be to buy some decent 24/27" Dell with a nice resolution, but there are some problems that keep me from doing so:
- I love Windows 8
- I'd REALLY like to use my PC as an touchscreen device.

I know there are some touchscreen monitors out there, but I get the feeling they're all either too expensive, or have a "low" resolution. Does anyone have any advice for me?

mase123987

Mar 1, 2012
Visit site
I have a 1080p, 23in touchscreen from Acer that works wonderfully. Only problem: I don't find it very useful on a desktop. With a desktop screen, it usually is 2-3 feet away from your head. Now, hold your hand out that distance for any length of time. No bueno. Some will say you can just rest your elbow on your desk. That doesn't take to long to become uncomfortable either.

Unless you plan on using it more as an input device compared to a monitor you can touch, I wouldn't do it. It works for tablets and some laptops very well, not desktops though.

AaHaa

Oct 15, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for your reply!
Now I kinda hate Microsoft for making an OS that works so well with touchscreens... I think my best option is to buy a Wacom Cintiq 24HD Touch as primary monitor and a secondary non-touch monitor to watch movies on and stuff... But I'll first have to sell my body to science to get the money needed for a purchase like that :(

berty6294

Oct 5, 2012
Visit site
I tried getting a touchscreen monitor when 8 first came out and found out that my 3 monitor setup was going to cost a bit more than I wanted lol. I am thinking about investing this holiday season though, so I'm interested in hearing how frequently people actually use their touchscreens on desktops.

mase123987

Mar 1, 2012
Visit site