Which app is using location at startup

Jo1alfa

Jun 19, 2015
Visit site
Hello all, newbie here with nokia 830 gdr2 update in Belgium

I would like to know why I always see the location icon when starting up my phone.
Is there a way to check which apps are running at startup and using the location?

Kind regards,

Johan

gpobernardo

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
If you've got the Find My Phone settings activated in your phone settings, then it's most probably your phone itself that is finding your location right after start up - your phone will also do this right before it shuts down and at a pre-determined interval so it would be easier to find it from your windowsphone.com account.

In a newer update (I think WP 8.1 update 2), there will be the option to choose which apps have access to certain services, such as location... but that doesn't seem to include which apps are currently using what services; it's only an allow/disallow thing.

Welcome to Windows Central, by the way.

Jo1alfa

Jun 19, 2015
Visit site
Hello and thanks for your answer,

I don't think it is the find my phone as it is not activated on my phone.
That location icon drives me crazy as I do not know what is happening.
Grrrr.....
Any tips to finding the solution will be rewarded with a big thank you.

Kind regards,

Johan

Jo1alfa

Jun 19, 2015
Visit site
Hello,

Just got a tip to disable location service and try or wait for an app to ask permission.
Alas...
No app is asking for permission.

Regards,

Johan

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
According to Microsoft, when you see that symbol an Application is Requesting Location. I interpret that to mean the request may not be honored... The forums are filled with people asking how come it always lights up even though they have disabled Location in their settings.