Microsoft Account - Is changing your Profile name illegal?

BlueOwl245

Jun 16, 2015
Visit site
This is more a question for Microsoft, but because I have really struggled to contact them for 4 days now, I apologise for posting it here now..!

I'm a newbie confused about something. When you first register and activate your MS account, you are obviously expected as a point of law, to provide all your true details, inc your real name. Which I did of course. However, I wanted to stop my real name being revealed to receipients whenever I sent Outlook email... so the only way I found to do this, was to signin and change my 'profile name' to something more anonymous. Microsoft have already confirmed they know my real name from a credit card payment made, which is fine.

Someone in a bar has commented to me that "it is illegal" to use any name at all other than your real full name, including profiles, with Microsoft. (If this is true, why do they allow you to change it in management settings?)

Is this true?

BO245.

jsooney

Mar 27, 2014
Visit site
People say a lot of things in bars, not sure how much stock I would put in that.

I don't have my real name on any of my email accounts except one, been that way for 15 years. I haven't been arrested yet.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I don't think they really care.
they have bigger fish to fry, and if I deemed it necessary, I wouldn't hesitate to take such action.

Facebook however, has motivation to ensure real names, which I saw one of my friends running aground of.

Last edited:

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
On my Microsoft Account and on my email addresses with Outlook and Yahoo, I just go by my initials. I loose zero sleep worrying about the morality, legality and ethics of it.

Your friend in the bar is pulling your leg.

BlueOwl245

Jun 16, 2015
Visit site