PPC-6700 Scam on Ebay

ScaryHumor#WP

Jan 30, 2006
Visit site
Long time reader, first time poster...

I'm a power seller on Ebay. I've been using Ebay for over 9 years. I'm one of the most synical sob's you'll ever meet. So I thought I'd be the last to get scammed.
I got the price down to $520, and bought this: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=64355&item=5829956290

Got it a few days later, and was new as advertised. Activated it, played with it for about a week, and discovered I didn't like it, and swapped back to my 650. It sat in the box for about a month, before I listed it back on Ebay, and got $500 for it. A $20 loss, not bad considering I'm month to month with Sprint (2 yr contract expired in 12/05), and didn't have to sign a new contract, and be locked in to a phone I didn't know if I'd like.

Continuing on to the scam...
I shipped the 6700 to the guy that won it from me. He tried to activate it, and was referred to the fraud department. They told him the phone was a paperweight, and it could never be activated. Of course now this guy thinks I ripped him off. I emailed him my number, spoke, and calmed him down. I explained to him, as my auction did, that I had paid full price for the phone. There was no contract, or balance due associated with it, AND I had it previously activated on my own account.

3 phone calls with Sprint later...
The guy I bought the phone from apparently had opened a commercial account with Sprint, with a stolen identity, and ordered about 20 6700's. Then resold them all on Ebay. It took a month or 2 before Sprint figured it out, and shut them off.
To make matters worse, I accidently left him a positive feedback when leaving the fraud warning for other Ebayers, AND Paypal would not refund my $$$ because the auction was more than 45 days old.
:mad:

Ebay has since shut him down, but I am out my $520. I did of course refund the $$$ to the guy that bought it from me. :cry:

Word to the wise...