Is Continuum the way MS will gain mobile market space?

Jcmg62

Oct 8, 2013
Visit site
I've been using Continuum for a couple of months now. It's OK. Far from good and many updates away from great, but definitely on the right track. I'm pretty confident that Microsoft are serious about Continuum's future and it'll keep getting better with regular updates.

What I have been thinking about is how Microsoft could leverage Continuum to build a viable mobile market for themselves.

If I were in Acer or HP's shoes right now, there's no way I'd be launching a W10M phone as a standalone device. Samsung tried that. HTC tried that. Nokia tried that. Nothing worked.

However, if you launch your W10M device in a box that comes with a Continuum dock, 12" (or bigger) screen, keyboard and mouse as standard then suddenly you're not just trying to sell a phone. You're selling a complete portable computing experience.

Taking it to the next level, maybe the rumoured Surface Phone will come with Continuum already built in. No more dock to have to set up....everything runs wirelessly from the phone.

Imagine getting all of this as standard in your next W10M phone box in 2017:

1. A 64bit Surface Phone capable of running full windows programmes (full on 128GB built in memory, 6-8GB ram, SD card supported, 20Mpeg rear camera, 5Mpeg front camera, rocking front speakers, aluminium chassis, crazy clear 5.5" screen)

2. A wireless 12" screen with massive (but light) built in battery, front facing camera and awesome speakers. Maybe a similar design and specification to the Surface, but just a dumb screen until it sniffs out the continuum phone. Take it a little further, maybe there'd be a feature where you could plug your phone into the screen to piggyback power if your phone is running low on juice.

3. A premium, fold up wireless keyboard (or similar to Surface keyboard) and cool, super light ergonomic mouse.