Project REST - Manage, execute and analyze REST calls

einkunz

Feb 21, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I would like to introduce my new app.

Project REST

https://forums.windowscentral.com/e...-rest%2F9nblggh4ts2l%3Frtc%3D1&token=oYH-3g7j

Motivation
As an app developer I have to test REST-Call almost daily and analyze the JSON data from the response.
I have used tools or some browser addons in the past.
These tools always had some decisive disadvantages for me. Either they were very expensive or they were designed for small projects where you want to test one or two calls.
I also lacked some features for convenience (more about this later).

What is Project REST
It's not that easy to descripe Project REST's functionality in a few lines, but i try.

In Project REST I can create solutions.
Projects are then created in the solution. (e.g.: LoginServer, MyLottoServer, CMS).
A project can have various parameters, such as endpoint, basicAuthentication, path, query and header parameters.

Different services can then be defined in a project. For example
LoginServer
|-> Login
|-> Register
MeinLottoServer
|->Ziehungen
|->Quoten
Usw.

The services can also have parameters such as ResourcePath, path, query and header parameters.

And that brings you to the actual heart, the calls. Each service can contain calls.
The parameters defined in the project and service are inherited to the call when it is created. The call can be executed. A change to the parameters in the projects/services is not inherited directly in the call, but can be inherited automatically in all calls or explicitly selected in the calls. This was a feature I often missed on other tools. I'll try to explain this in more detail using an example:

In the project I have two endpoints (for prod and beta). In the service I have stored some header parameters, for example
○ Accept-Language = en-English
○ Accept-Language = en-US
○ Cookie = ....