what antivirus and malware does this forum reccomend?

corvairbob

May 2, 2018
Visit site
so i have been using the chromebooks for the last 4 to 5 years and then google decided to start an end of life. so i got back into windows machines. i used the chromebooks for the security but now that has ended and i'm back on the laptops and windows 10. i upgraded for windows 7 that last machine i had ran that os. so my machines now have 10 professional on them and 8gb ram 64 bit systems.

so my question is what is the general consensus on antivirus and malware programs to run with windows 10? i have the defender running but some are telling me i need more. so what is the more? i did install the free avast program and i put spybot and whocrashed, but not to sure about them yet.

so i'm thinking the best place to find good antivirus and malware programs will be a site like this windows forums. any help is welcome. thanks. bp.

tgp

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site
The evaluation of security software based on how much CPU, RAM, disk I/O it uses is a red herring. None of those has anything to do with security.

This is true. OTOH, do we have evidence that one security suite is better than another? All else being equal, I'd choose the one that uses the least resources.

In general, Windows 10's built in Windows Defender, used along side Common Sense™, is sufficient.

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
if you know what you are doing and you're not on a network with other users then windows defender should be plenty adequate, convenient, and free. if you are a normal user you'd probably want to have an additional AV. ESET makes a great lightweight AV called NOD32. it will do a great job and run well. don't get all crazy thinking about it though, just don't click on links you don't know what they are on websites and in email and don't install or run anything you don't know what it is and you'll generally be fine.
I use NOD32 as well.

TechFranz

Jan 3, 2014
Visit site