What MS is doing wrong - observations by a random guy.

TheOzgun

Jan 11, 2014
Visit site
Official apps. F'ing official apps. That's the thing these guys are overlooking.

I've been using a 925 for 6 months - though I've been following the platform since WP7 days, so one could call me a WP enthusiast for some level. I just love my phone, and the reaction of people who are unfamiliar to WP. When I draw it out of my pocket, start messing around the start screen, noticing the "What's that ?" look from other people, sometimes I catch myself unintentionally giving that Bruce Willis smirk. Following are some of my experiences with non-WP people, and my humble conclusions.

"You know what, I guess this is actually better than the iPhone."
This buddy of mine (a less tech-savvy guy) was once studying the phone, checking out the design, unlocking Bing lock screen, scrolling down the start screen - no purpose, just wandering around the OS - and after a brief pause he said this exact phrase. By the way, he's not even an iPhone user.

"Holy! That display..."
This is an iPhone user, a techy guy. We were in broad daylight outside, so I believe the auto-brightness delivered all. He was so interested that he asked to have a look and played around, holding it towards sunlight while giving me the exact Obama-Not-Bad face.

"Is this better than the iPhone ?"
This girl is not the sharpest tool in the shed, I don't think if she can tell an HTC from a Samsung, but knows the iCrap inside out. Not apple-fan, but uses iPhone because everyone else does. I simply answered "What's "better", to be clear ?" Not surprisingly she was stunned and gave me a gibberish answer through her hardly sufficient reasoning.

For the easy users, WP is full of charm. They instantly notice something's different: the performance, crisp design, beautiful colors, so they do take WP seriously.