Why did I order a 2014 Motorola Moto X?

jkercado

Sep 14, 2011
Visit site
TL;DR This is an experiment on how much has Android progressed and if it can replace Windows Phone.

If you went beyond that first line, cool. I'll tell you why I have ordered an Android phone. You see, I've been using Windows Phone for around four years after moving off Android (which was horrible at the time), and Blackberry (which was...boring as hell). I started out with a tiny (cool) Samsung Focus. Always faithful, always waiting for Microsoft to deliver. Things started to get better. I bought a Nokia Lumia 900. Two, actually. Then I got shafted by the WP8 change. I remained faithful, because I saw the potential in the OS. Convinced my family (wife and two kids) to use WP.

Eventually got myself and my wife a set of 920's. Eventually both got smashed, and I was in for a replacement with AT&T Next. What did I pick? A glorious 1520, while my wife got herself a 1020. Gotta add here that since I have 5 lines, I kinda play around with renewals and stuff, in case you were wondering how I do this.

The thing is, I had been keeping my faith in Windows Phone. I got into the Dev Preview. I see signals of good things, and yet... We're still lacking. We're still being treated like 2nd class citizens.

And the worse thing, we're being treated like that by Microsoft itself.

The Office releases, one of the distinguishing features of WP, are the straw that broke the camel's back. Not only are other platforms getting Office, they're getting a vastly superior experience. How do I know?

About a month ago, I bought a Nexus 7 2013 32GB in pristine condition from a coworker, for a ridiculously cheap price. I got it because I wanted a small tablet with a good screen for writing on the go with a keyboard (something I can't do with my 1520), plus I was honestly curious about Android.