Are Universl Apps truly universal?

runamuck83

Oct 25, 2012
Visit site
We don't have Windows 10 Mobile officially released yet - but I've noticed on a few occasions where the "mobile" app will be updated while the "desktop" app will not and vice versa.

I thought these universal apps were the SAME app? How/why are they updated separately?

milkyway

Apr 16, 2014
Visit site
I'm not a developer but my understanding is this: A UAP (e.g. MS weather app) uses the same baseline but a different UI and/or customizations for every device. You write your code and when it comes to compiling you have to choose for which device you want to compile you UAP. If you don't have anything new in your code that's relevant for the W10 mobile you maybe just want to compile it for W10 desktop.

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
I'm not a developer but my understanding is this: A UAP (e.g. MS weather app) uses the same baseline but a different UI and/or customizations for every device. You write your code and when it comes to compiling you have to choose for which device you want to compile you UAP. If you don't have anything new in your code that's relevant for the W10 mobile you maybe just want to compile it for W10 desktop.

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong

No. That's how it worked on WP8.1. Now you have one app that you only compile once. That single app can decide at runtime which UI configuration to use to create the app's UI.

However, this ability existing doesn't mean developers must use it. MS defines a universal app as any app that runs on the UAP, but that doesn't guarantee the app will run on more than one form factor. A developer can still limit an app to running on just one form factor, e.g. if the developer has no interest in designing multiple UI confugurations.

Last edited:

Daniel Rubino

Editor-in-chief
Staff member
Jan 19, 2006
Visit site

This is correct.