Windows 10 Has Destroyed My Laptop

CHANCE GAUGE RYAN

Oct 15, 2015
Visit site
Windows 10 automatically downloaded to my new laptop in August and since it's essentially left it useless, bogging it down, logging me off the internet mid use, or shutting down all together.

I took it to a repair shop where I learned the download became permanent after 30 days, and there's no realistic way to remove the download without costing me more than what the laptops worth.

Why would someone like Microsoft create something that not only illegally stores your personal information, but isn't reversible on your own, or even by a repair shop.

My laptops a Dell Inspiron 15 3000 series it was provided to me by the VA Voc Rehab program, I'm a disabled Vet having to return to College after suffering a TBI and loosing my career in medicine, and having to redo College all over again. The VA won't provide me with a new laptop, and it makes no sense to pay for the system to be wiped which would cost over $200, only to pay to have all the deleted content repurchased which would cost more than most laptops on the market.

Can anyone direct me to a Microsoft CSR so I can see if they'd be willing to remove the download and repair my system?:unhappysweat:

Tumultus

Feb 17, 2012
Visit site
I would strongly suggest you find yourself a new "repair shop" since those guys clearly aren't qualified to take care of your problems!

Originally, your Dell laptop shipped with a restore partition. The Windows 10 upgrade doesn't delete that partition and you still can use the built-in recovery function to restore your laptop to whatever was on there when you bought it. Check Dell's support website (or call them) for instructions on how to restore your laptop to factory condition. It usually involves a couple of key presses on startup in order to enter into recovery mode.