What should I consider about Windows 10 Mobile before switching to the platform?

JamesM90

Oct 28, 2016
Visit site
I've never owned a Windows Mobile device. Right now, I'm tempted to buy one. I've used iOS and Android, but never really liked either of them(Both have their pros and cons).
I've read some of the threads, and I see a lot of people complaining about the lack of support from Microsoft, some issues regarding basic tasks in a smartphone like bluetooth and WiFi connectivity, mobile data issues, some issues with apps from Microsoft itself like lower quality compared to iOS and Android versions, and of course lack of apps in the Windows Store.

The devices I have in mind, are Lumia 640xl(dual sim variant) and Lumia 650.
As the device will be my primary phone, I wanted to know if these problems are device specific, or almost everyone has experienced them?
Is the amount of ram in mentioned devices enough for future updates?(I'm a software engineer and don't like being left behind! I've seen it happen to people with WP7 devices when WP 8 came out(the reason might have been different).
What are the things that I should consider before making the switch?
Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited:

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
1. The 640 XL and 650 do not appear to have any model specific issues at this time.

2. Windows 10 Mobile is more inconsistent than iOS and Windows Phone 8.x. Plenty of people see it as a reliable daily driver, some see Cortana crash all the time. (and more)

3. Regarding software updates, if Microsoft abandons you there's only so much you can do. The best choice is to go as new and as expensive as you can if updates are paramount. the new Windows 10 update model is perfect but Microsoft abandoned many Lumia's in the transition. Will it be different?

I recommend spending as little as possible in the platform as the parent isnt invested either and that by itself isnt that BAD per se, its just that it shows. a lot.