Verizon 2520 and using Straight Talk 4GTLE (Sim card)

webkrawler

Dec 6, 2013
Visit site
So, I decided to pick up a SIM card for my Verizon Nokia 2520.

I am a Sprint guy and I have very little experience with SIM cards but wanted to use my tablet in places that I would not have a Wi-Fi option available.

I purchased a Verizon BYOP SIM card kit from Straight Talk and inserted it into my tablet. I had, from a friend, a T-mobile SIM card that I had put in the tablet prior to see if I could get it to recognize the card. From the VZW Manager it kept saying "No Sim Card Inserted".
There were no other options anywhere so I wasn't sure if would recognize the Straight Talk CDMA SIM card or not.

It did indeed recognize the SIM card and THEN I had new options to switch it to GSM if I liked but I decided to keep it on the CDMA Verizon option and go ahead and attempt to active the SIM card. If you want to use a GSM SIM card and can't change the settings, put a CDMA SIM card in first and THEN it should allow you to change those settings.

So, I called the number to Straight Talk that came in my kit and all they could keep asking me for was the phone number. I told them several times I had no phone number and I was trying to activate my Verizon tablet. Finally they told me they don't support Verizon tablets and hung up.