Media controls on lockscreen concept

Asskickulater

Sep 20, 2013
Visit site
So, I'm posting this here first to see if many agree with me before wasting Microsoft's time with this.

When Microsoft implemented media controls on the lockscreen, I wasn't very excited, I always felt it was redundant since it's on the volume rocker, and their implementation of it was pretty.. well.. in my opinion bad. It doesn't seem to fit, it just seems thrown up there! One day on the crapper (or the epiphany throne?) as I was messing with my phone I thought of a way I believe to make it look more consistent, while also helping with the "duplication" issue. I made a mock-up below. (I'm not a designer so just take the general idea from the image) The basic idea, is to take the media controls straight from the volume rocker, and just pin it to the lockscreen, removing the volume bar to save space, all the while removing the actual media controls from the volume rocker when on the lockscreen. Pressing the volume button would then just push the media controls down to show the volume bar, and the media controls would push the volume bar back up when it times out. what do you guys think? Does this improve the experience any? Think it's worth putting on the feedback hub?

Attachments

• music control.jpg
    music control.jpg
    149.3 KB · Views: 7

rhapdog

Retired Senior Ambassador
Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
I don't like the solid colored bar of the volume rocker, and I don't really care for it implemented there either, as it would cover part of my photo for the lock screen. I work hard to create nice lock screen photos, and I like to see my work.

However, a transparent bar in the same way as the navigation bar has transparency would be great. I'm not sure how I feel about the album art. I'm torn between wanting to see more of my own photo and the album art.

Maurizio Troso

Aug 22, 2014
Visit site