Which WP8.1 device for dad - smaller is good...

Fish On

Dec 8, 2014
Visit site
Quick intro/history. I'm a somewhat young guy, but somehow never picked up on modern electronic gadgets like most in my generation (I'm a smartphone noob).

In any case, a bit over a year ago, I got tired of texting on my old flip phone (I was almost 20 before I even texted...:unhappy:), so I wanted to get a phone with a querty keyboard. Decided it might be cool to have Wifi capability, so I bought the cheapest decently rated phone with Wifi, used on ebay, of course.

That was a Samsung Focus (WP7.5 Mango). Thought that was pretty cool (no data - AT&T call/text only plan), just used Wifi.
Dad thought it was pretty cool too, so a month later, I bought him a used one just like it. That's how I ended up a fan of Windows phones. The interface was pleasant.

However, the Wifi on those was sllloooowww, both mine and his. I'm not sure we have the strongest wifi at the house, but even at work, it was slow. Later, I ended up swapping to a new plan with data, and found the data to be almost unusable. So slow that nothing would really load. Small sites - maybe - picture heavy sites wouldn't even work. That phone wasn't the most reliable either - would give me hardware problems, even more so for his - turns itself off and on all the time.

The day that phone turned off and wouldn't turn back on was a good day. Could finally get a decent phone. Sooo, I started researching (again, to buy used on Ebay), and not knowing why mine was slow, I wanted to be sure I had more RAM, and more processor. So, I settled on a Nokia Lumia 920. Been pretty pleased with the phone - it is waaayy more phone than I need (I'm not a heavy app user, not a heavy picture taker, don't store a lot of music on it - mainly use it for call/text/web surfing/calendar, alarm, etc.). But, it's plenty fast on wifi and data, so I'm cool with it.