Beginner Windows Phone 8 Developer

quantranbr

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
Hi all,
I begin with windows phone 8 and i wonder to choose which programming language C# or C++, i program both App and Game.
Please help me for the best choice and if can, please give me the reason why choose this language.
Thank you

casab1anca

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
C# is simpler and faster to develop in -- if you're only developing for WP, go with C#. If you need to reuse existing C++ libraries or are planning to port your apps to other platforms, go with C++.

ironsoulreaver

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
As an old school programmer I can't help but recommend C++. It is natively supported in many SDK's and eases porting. It is also a very developed language that is much more powerful. There is also an unlimited wealth of information for c++. It is however as said a little more difficult to learn.

I suggest that whatever you choose, the first thing you do is learn the SDK interface and then open up several sample applications and copy/paste the code to a project of your own that is in itself unique to learn stuff quick. Then after you get familiar with what you've been doing say to a point where you can create a simple app without copying all the time you should open up some books.

contributorM

Nov 20, 2012
Visit site
Cheers for the thread. I'm new to developing period! Never written an app. Closes thing to programming I've done is writing .bat files lmao. Want to get into developing apps, especially for the WP. I've already downloaded the SDK and have no idea where to start with that.

shinygerbil

Aug 21, 2012
Visit site
I'm in the same boat too. Dabbled in a tiny bit of programming in the past, found I was good at it but never followed up and learned more. Big regret of mine. Currently trying to wrap my head around OOP - and I think I'm going to stick with C# for now to avoid dealing with memory management etc. I definitely plan on transitioning to cpp in the future.