Contact your missing app maker

anon(5466678)

Dec 12, 2012
Visit site
This is a plea to the community to contact the makers of that app that windows 10 is missing.

Now a quick story about what I did, and what you should do too.

I am a design engineer, as such I use CAD software most of my day. I started a design business about a year and a half ago to try to get going on my own (its been slow to start). One of the main things I had to decide was how to handle CAD, specifically in a portable way. CAD laptops in general are monsters, i didnt want a monster. So, I researched remote app capabilities. The thought was that i could install the CAD software on my desktop at home and remote in to the app from anywhere on any computer, the heavy lifting is done by the desktop and my spectre x360 just has to display it. Beautiful, yet over my head in complexity. It was around this time that OnShape came along. OnShape basically does exactly what I wanted to do but in a much larger scale. It is a browser based CAD system, the hard math is handled in the server, all your device does is display it.

OnShape started with 2 means of using it. First was the browser based interface, this is their main interface and it is the most useful way to use it currently. Additionally, however, they released an iOS app at launch. Then shortly after that an Android app. Then continuum came into being. OMG... I can have cad on my phone plug it into a screen and have it be desktop like... at least that was the thought. I emailed OnShape to see if they would write a universal app, i explained to them how continuum would change the way of computing, how universal apps would run on every windows 10 device including an xbox (think presentation of models) etc... etc... Got back the classic response of "If we see enough user demand we will make the app". Crest fallen I walked away from my computer and cried a little.