No Training = No Developers = No Apps = No Hardware sales

Tasha Johnson

Mar 21, 2013
Visit site
I found this thread whilst searching google for Windows Phone 8 training. I totally agree with the author!

I've been digging into WP8 development for the past month, and boy what a headache it's been. I'm a C# programmer, and have used WPF and XAML, but nothing has been more of a headache than attempting to develop Windows Phone 8 applications!

As the author said, the learning resources are poor. No books, no training. I've managed to get by, by learning Windows 8 development ... but it's NOT the same. Even such simple issues as using a WrapPanel on WP8 caused me hours of searching before I even found the answer was to install the Windows Toolkit! I'm currently having a headache with Triggers in WP8 ... finally learn't they can't be used as they can in Windows 8.

It's a headache to get any results from Google. When you search for anything related to Windows Phone 8 you get results for "Windows 8" ... which isn't the same. It takes hours to find an answer to such a simple issue that could have been documented by Microsoft.

The Microsoft Virtual Academy is good, but I've went through the WP8 course and it doesn't go into much great detail.

I'm tempted to step back for a while and wait until the learning resources are available. I have to agree with the OP's thread title though.

nstine20

Dec 13, 2012
Visit site
I'm not a developer, though lately I have been looking into potentially learning how to develop for wp8/w8 and etc. In one of the recent WPC articles they mentioned the website geekchamp.com and there I found this WP8 training e-book:

Windows Phone Toolkit In Depth 3rd Edition | GeekChamp Component Marketplace

Thus far I have not made the leap to purchase this as I don't quite have the time to spend learning yet, so I have no idea if it is any good. I thought I would post it here though in case someone wants to give it a try/research it further.