Arrive + touchstone ?

onemadrssn

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
I have noticed many of the users here are former webOSers. I know I miss the touchstone charger and I am sure I am not alone.

So, is anyone up to the task? Ready to take the plunge, risk bricking your phone, and being the first one to take a soldering iron to your Arrive?

It has been done with the EVO: How to mod HTC EVO 4G to work with Palm Touchstone wireless charger
and a few other phones. (I believe I once saw a forum post talking about someone who did it to their LG Optimus S)

I am a Mechanical Engineer by degree, although I work in software now for a consumer electronics company. I do have experience with circuits, electronics, and certainly have soldered my way out of a problem before. However I am not confident enough in my abilities to take that risk with my shiney new phone.

What I gather is that the touchstone coil (from the back cover of a pre or pixi) outputs a USB standard 5V .5A (or 2.5W) of power and all one needs to do is find the positive and negative USB power in on the Arrive circuit and solder in wires thin/flat enough to fit while also having enough gauge for that sort of current flow without heating up too much connecting the touchstone coil to the arrive charging circuit.

Last edited:

onemadrssn

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
I should add, I am willing to donate a touchstone back cover to someone willing to experiment. Is anyone willing to donate a touchstone puck for the cause?

Matts4313

Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
I think I have 3 touchstones and 2 backs laying around. The idea of it was cooler than the real life uses in my case. If someone pays for shipping they can have them.

onemadrssn

Feb 24, 2011
Visit site
Question (that I should probably know the answer to): Does inductive charging work through a metal barrier? The barrier in this case being the what I assume to be an aluminum battery cover. On the Pre, Pixi, and EVO the battery cover is plastic.