Glance screen stays stationary, shouldn't it move?

RuleOfSines

Dec 2, 2012
Visit site
I posted this in the bugs section but maybe it isn't actually a bug. I noticed my glance screen doesn't shift around the screen like it did on my previous amoled phones. Doesn't it need to in order to prevent burn in on these screens? I usually set my glance to always on but don't want to if it isn't working right. Does anybody leave theirs on and notice if it moves?

Chris Phelps

May 25, 2015
Visit site
First, No it is not supposed to move. Not a bug.

Second, I could be wrong, but I believe what you will hear is this: It is not an LCD screen, it is an AMOLED screen. Screen burn-ins are a thing of the past.

The difference is that LEDs simply change color, so for burn-in to happen, the LEDs would all have to become physically stuck emitting only one color. I'm no expert, but I seriously doubt that is even possible. When an LED gets toasted, you end up with a dead pixel. (little red or green dots).

Skyway

Nov 6, 2015
Visit site

Second, I could be wrong, but I believe what you will hear is this: It is not an LCD screen, it is an AMOLED screen. Screen burn-ins are a thing of the past.

The difference is that LEDs simply change color, so for burn-in to happen, the LEDs would all have to become physically stuck emitting only one color. I'm no expert, but I seriously doubt that is even possible. When an LED gets toasted, you end up with a dead pixel. (little red or green dots).

Actually OLED screens are able to completely turn off each individual pixel. That's why blacks look so black. To display black on an LCD the backlight has to be on so blacks end up a dark shade of grey.

dosenfisch

Nov 19, 2015
Visit site