Why don't my Outlook.com Contacts show up in my Outlook 2013 Address Book?

coip

May 21, 2013
Visit site
So I've been using Outlook 2013 for a few months. It was odd at first as I've only ever used web-based mail, but I'm digging it now. However, one thing is really irking me: the address book (People tab). If I go to People at Outlook.com, I have my Outlook.com contacts synced up with Facebook, Gmail, and other accounts, so anytime I compose a new email and simply start typing a name, the email pops up. However, in Outlook 2013, the bulk of these contacts are missing. I'll compose a new email, start typing a name and then nothing will come up, so I'll have to manually enter it in. How do I get all my contacts into Outlook 2013? I assumed it would just pull it all from my Outlook.com account when I logged in (i.e. first set up Outlook), but that does not seem to be the case. Do I have to manually import them?

coip

May 21, 2013
Visit site

You are an Outlook master!

Update: when I tried this method I got the following error message when importing the .csv file into Outlook 2013: "Cannot complete because service provider does not support". I Binged around and found this workaround:
1. go to Outlook.com and import the .csv file there, under your people tab.
2. after it imports them, go to Manage > Clean up Contacts to merge duplicate entries
3. launch Outlook 2013 on your PC and the imported contacts should be there.

Last edited:

coip

May 21, 2013
Visit site