Wifi error with driver

Chintan Gohel

May 23, 2014
Visit site
I recently got a surface 3 in a lumia conversations competition. It was sent, I paid the required taxes to the Kenyan government and I've been using it for over 3 months now

The problem I've been running into of late is that the wifi option keeps disappearing from action center and settings. I can go to device manager and I find that the wifi driver has an issue. It shows the triangle with the exclamation mark. I disable the driver and enable it, restart the surface and wifi starts working again

The problem is I have to do this frequently especially after waking the device from sleep or hibernate. An added problem is wifi keeps dropping and I have to manually connect the wifi

What are the solutions to these problems? I'm hoping it's software related and not hardware

Any help would be appreciated, thank you

Chintan Gohel

May 23, 2014
Visit site
More info: surface 3, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
I've updated everything. Even the firmware update that came out has been installed
I'm in Kenya so no possibility of service here.

eagle63

Dec 30, 2015
Visit site
For about the first week I owned my Surface 3, it was failing to reconnect to WiFi whenever resuming from hibernate mode. However, it's been fine ever since - including with the January 2016 firmware update. (and I have no idea why it suddenly started working again) Sorry, not sure what it could be in your case.

Is this happening on all wifi networks? Or just yours? (you're not "hiding" the SSID are you?)

Telstar1948

Nov 4, 2015
Visit site