Any benefit to the 4gb i5 over the m3?

WhatTheDickens

Nov 23, 2015
Visit site
I just ordered a SP4 from Best Buy. I intended to buy the fanless m3, but with my student discount the 4gb i5 was the same price, so I ordered that instead. I am planning to test it out for two weeks to see if the fan noise bothers me, and then I will decide if I want to keep it or exchange for the m3.

Other than the fan noise, what should I look out for during the trial period? Are there other downsides to the i5? I expected battery life to be worse, but online reviews suggest that it's actually about the same as the m3. Can anyone confirm or deny that?

Will I see any real world improvements from the increased processing power? I'm a little fuzzy on the technical details, but I am under the impression that the RAM will limit my usage before I see any improvements from the i5 processor. Is that right?

I am a graduate student and will be using this mostly for MS Office, annotating pdfs, and taking notes, along with Web browsing and Netflix. I don't do any gaming, but I dabble in photography and would like to try my hand at digital artwork. I don't expect the m3 would be able to handle RAW files, so if the i5 could do that, I'd consider it a step up.

ioaniro

Apr 16, 2013
Visit site
Fan noise is not really an issue on the i5, it rarely kicks in at least in my case. I'd say for your usage scenarios you should get the m3 with the discount and save some money which you can invest in other stuff. But since you ordered already just see how it behaves. The main difference for what you use it is the charger, m3 has a smaller charger probably fills up slower and there's also no extra usb on the charger to use for your phone.

ryankelsey7

May 7, 2013
Visit site