FM Radio???

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
Alright, I launched the FM radio app in Windows Phone 8.1 (the DP version). All I get is static. I swapped to a different set of earphones and same.

I know the Icon is supposed to have FM Radio so am I doing something wrong. I've dialed through the entire spectrum and just snowy static. Not a hint of any broadcast. This is my first time launching FM Radio on my Icon since I've owned it.

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
yes, over the air FM. I used it on my 521 and it worked perfectly on that device (just tried it again this very second to verify).

I guess I got a bad Icon. Should've checked that when I first bought it. I'm not going to spend a $50 deductible just for FM radio though... :crying:

kencaz

Apr 16, 2014
Visit site
yes, over the air FM. I used it on my 521 and it worked perfectly on that device (just tried it again this very second to verify).

I guess I got a bad Icon. Should've checked that when I first bought it. I'm not going to spend a $50 deductible just for FM radio though... :crying:

Just tried on my Icon and works fine... Did not even know it had that capability... bet my 928 did as well... I had two apps installed already one gave me only static and the other worked fine... I think they were built in apps from MS but not sure... The one that does not work can be un-installed but the other FM Radio app works fine and cannot be un-installed...

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
Okay. so I launched the FM Radio app with the headphones already plugged in. All snowy static.

I tried MobileVertex's tip (unplug headphones and plug them back in while already in the app). I completely lost all sound, including static. Changed volume, switched the speaker, etc. Nothing. Closed the app and relaunched it. Now I have FM Radio working!

I guess the app is a little finicky. I'm guessing rebooting the phone like BB_Jay suggests would also work.

DavidinCT

Feb 18, 2011
Visit site