MMS, Instant Messages, and WiFi - Help!

ElektroDragon

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to smartphones and very confused:

1) Is there a way to send Live Messenger IMs over WiFi without AT&T charging me 20 cents for them? If WiFi is on, I shouldn't get charged 20 cents for IMs, right?

2) How can I send an MMS over WiFi as opposed to an SMS, and will AT&T charge me 20 cents for the MMS over WiFi?

3) When I'm on 4G with no WiFi, how the heck does AT&T know that I am sending/receiving an IM (Live Messenger) message over the data network and charge me 20 cents for it?! Why isn't this included in the data plan?

Thanks for any help here!

Pronk

Jun 22, 2011
Visit site
MMS by its definition is cellular messaging, so no you can't send them over wifi. But if you're on wifi, send it as an email?

ElektroDragon

Nov 23, 2011
Visit site
MMS by its definition is cellular messaging, so no you can't send them over wifi. But if you're on wifi, send it as an email?

Thanks, though I still need answers to 1 and 3. :) Anyone? I have discovered that I can send the Live Messenger IM texts with 4G data off and WiFi on. I'm conducted an experiment to see if AT&T charges me for these IM messages when 4G is off and when it is on (and while WiFi is on all the time). To clarify, the IM messages are to other logged in IM Live Msgr accounts, not to any phone or anything like that.

If anyone knows the answers offhand though, I'd love to hear them.

Big Supes

Sep 1, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to smartphones and very confused:

1) Is there a way to send Live Messenger IMs over WiFi without AT&T charging me 20 cents for them? If WiFi is on, I shouldn't get charged 20 cents for IMs, right?

IMs use your 'data' allowance. Just like surfing the internet. If you're connected via Wifi, you won't be charged by your service provider. You also won't be charged (if you don't exceed your data allowance) if you're connected via 3G/4G. Data allowance and text messages are entirely different. :)