Modern UI Concepts

willybraatlund

Oct 18, 2012
Visit site
Hi! After the vine app I thought to my self, this is kind of the new Metro UI. It has the same look and feel like the twitter app and also 6tag. I really like this new style, maybe more than the original metro. So I'm not a developer, I'm only an amateur ++ photoshopper. But let's start with some examples of the design trend.
BLOG1.jpg
BLOG2.jpg

So I simply made some examples. Because todays facebook is a copy of the iOS and android one, AND the spotify just simply sucks. I wanted to make a youtube one, but too hard to make all the details with video player, but if you look at the other two you might understand what I'm aiming on with the youtube app.
http---makeagif.com--media-11-15-2013-FhSOd9.gifhttp---makeagif.com--media-11-15-2013-gZVyKQ.gif
(These two are actually GIF's, but they doesn't work, you have to open them in new tabs :D )

SORRY FOR BIG PICTURES, AND SOME BAD GRAMMAR/SPELLING.

What do you guys think? Do you like the "new" UI better then the original metro?

WanderingTraveler

Dec 23, 2012
Visit site
I personally like the old Metro design more, bar the wasted screen space by those massive headers. On landscape, that is a very large waste of screen space.
Perhaps, this is the reason behind why WP doesn't really support landscape mode.

However, the new Metro is more open for designers to work with. It's a smart move by Microsoft to do this, as it eases more users into the transition.

Simply put:
New Metro is more suitable for WP, as it provides more freedom (and space) for designers to work with.
Classic Metro is more suitable for Win8/RT, as it already has a lot of space, and it is much closer to the design direction Win8 is going with.

Al_2

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
Looks great. I really wish they'd implement that design for Facebook. It looks so much better than the current Android look-a-like.

manicottiK

Nov 24, 2011
Visit site