The reason why there are no good Time-lapse apps for Windows Phone

ericgrover

Jun 20, 2013
Visit site
I am a developer, and I noticed an opportunity for an app for Windows Phone 8.1. If you search the store, you will notice that there are no Time-lapse apps that will encode a time-lapse into a video. This seemed odd to me because with WP 8.1, you can write apps that take advantage of the video encoding of Media Foundation.

So I jumped in and started writing a Time-lapse app that would create videos. And my app is coming along quite nicely. It has DSLR-like controls for the camera, etc. But then I found out why there aren't any apps in the store yet.

There is a huge memory leak in the MediaCapture API on Lumia phones. I tested it on an HTC 8x, and it doesn't leak, but it does on my Icon and my 822 with Denim.

What this means is that at highest resolution, I can only take about 30 pics with my Icon without my app crashing.

So until Microsoft fixes this issue, you won't be getting any apps that can create Time-lapse mp4 videos.

If you are interested in the details of the memory leak, check out my MSDN forum post. I can't post the url because this is my first post here, but here is the end of the url: Forums/windowsapps/en-US/554935bd-e199-41d2-98a3-2d450f4a4c33/mediacapture-memory-leak?forum=wpdevelop

ericgrover

Jun 20, 2013
Visit site
I just reproduced the same memory leak in the new "Stop Motion Studio" app. It crashed with an Out Of Memory error after 77 frames on my Icon. I am assuming it did more frames because it is shooting at a slightly lower res (which you can't adjust).

ericgrover

Jun 20, 2013
Visit site
Here is a comparison of the memory utilization of the windows phone emulator vs. my Lumia Icon while doing a stress test on the camera.

memory_chart.png

ericgrover

Jun 20, 2013
Visit site
So I just received this from Microsoft Support:

"that the only work-around is to write this as a Windows Phone 8.0 targeted application.