Live Tiles should be on the desktop... not in the start menu...

yaggs

Jan 15, 2011
Visit site
I've been using Windows 10 for about 6 months now on my SP3 and am one of the few who actually was starting to like how Windows 8.1 worked on my device. I can't for the life of me see why Microsoft decided to put live tiles into the start menu instead of letting them float on the desktop.

I would consider the Desktop my "Home Screen" on my computer... when I'm not in a program I am at my desktop... in Windows Phone, when you are not in an app or settings screen you are at your start screen... the whole idea of having the live tiles is so that you can glance at stuff and see updates to apps and such without opening them... isn't the desktop a better place for something like that? Then I could arrange my tiles on my desktop so if I was using floating windows I could still see a vertical row of tiles and see updates to some of the most important apps whenever I want... without having to open the start menu... it really doesn't make much sense to me that if you want to see your live tiles you have to go open a menu. The whole idea of desktop peek would make a lot more sense... the tiles could be semi-transparent like they are on WP or they could show your desktop wallpaper through them like they do on WP... really the desktop is where they should be.

Another problem with the start menu on windows 8 was the fact that you might have to scroll the menu to the other side of the screen to see tiles you have on the other side of the menu... again... what's the point of glance-able tiles if you cant see them easily and quickly. Limiting them to the desktop would allow you to limit the number you could have to begin with and add more value to the fact that they have updated content on them and can easily be seen by "peeking" at your desktop.