Windows 10 app device install limit

Brent-WP

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
Has anyone heard from Microsoft regarding the device limit that they will use for app installs on Windows 10? I believe when Windows 8 first came out you could install an app that you get from the app store on a max number of 5 devices. Then when Windows 8.1 came out Microsoft increased that limit to a max of 81 devices that you could install the app on. However, it looks like they may have possibly decreased that limit drastically to 10 devices. I noticed that it states "Installation: Install this app on up to ten Windows 10 devices" listed in the "Addition information" section of the Windows 10 Mobile app store for the app. Has Microsoft officially stated yet as to the number of devices you can install apps to with a particular MSA? I do not like this decrease from 81 devices down to just 10.

Last edited:

Brent-WP

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
Well since I work in IT I have 10 personal devices now, counting my two Windows phones (one for daily use and one to test on), a couple of different tablets, laptops, desktops and my Xbox and it is possible that I could go over 10 in the future.

Also the main reason I don't like it is that I work for a school system and we have generic Windows domain login accounts we use for the schools libraries and computer labs. With Windows 8.1 we could use one MSA to install apps on up to 4 computer labs with 20 computers in each lab. With Windows 10 we are going to have to maintain 8 MSA's to do the same as compared to only one with Windows 8.1.

realwarder

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site
The school use looks like a misuse of licenses anyway. That would be 80 end users. Just as with Office. You can't buy an app once and install on 80 devices.

There were reports of a Volume Purchasing Program and Curated stores in W10 but that doesn't appear to have come to fruition yet. But that sounds like the license model schools should be using.