Why Do People Think This?

bawboh86

Sep 14, 2012
Visit site
I work in IT. Every time I talk to someone about Windows 8, they say "I'd update, but I don't have a touchscreen" or "I have Windows 8, but it's not as good because it's not on a touchscreen device". I have Windows 8 on my desktop, my laptop, and a Surface RT. My desktop does not have a touchscreen, and while my laptop does, I only use it when I have it in tablet mode (Lenovo Yoga 13). I find Windows 8 to be easy enough to use without a touchscreen. My girlfriend, who is not technologically advanced, finds using Windows 8 on the desktop to be just fine. She actually likes it more than Windows 7.

So why do people feel the need to have a touchscreen to use Windows 8?

I've personally informed people that it's easy enough to navigate around and if they get stuck with something, they can easily find tutorials on YouTube. It seems to be helping, but only just. There seems to be this stigma that you HAVE to have a touchscreen to use Windows 8 effectively, and I don't get it.

Thoughts?

msweig

Jan 31, 2013
Visit site
Probably because just about every review of Windows 8 (at least the ones I've seen) say the OS works much better with a touch screen.

Also, due to the price of Windows, most probably find it easier to upgrade while also upgrading their computer.

Guzzler3

May 4, 2012
Visit site
Hate to admit this, but yep. I was in the "Need touchscreen" camp, until I finally started using W8 with just a mouse or touchpad. I'm really surprised at how well MS implemented non-touch in W8. They really did think it through, despite what others have said.

But, with a touchscreen you do get the full experience. Every-now-and-then I to reach up to touch the screen on my non-touch laptop and I just think "Do'h!! I can't do that.'

doublebullout

Jan 18, 2011
Visit site