Advice 4 DVP/WP7 Newbie

SHildebrandt

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
Hello all......
Longtime Android user and prior to 2.2, an IOS user (all I unlocked to run on T-Mobile :) I had the chance to order a factory refurbished, unlocked DVP from TigerDirect for $89. At that price, I HAD to order such a cool looking device....
The listed specs say the device ships from TigerDirect with WP7.. My question: Is it possible to update directly to WP7.8, or do I have to update to WP7.5 BEFORE updating to WP7.8?
Also, if anyone has any general pointers, tips or tricks that are useful, PLEASE chime in..... I am COMPLETELY new to Windows Phone, so even the smallest tidbits would be useful.
Thanks All!! Steve H

Last edited:

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Problem is, you bought a device thats already behind the curve and has no significant future. (and won't see all the newness in WP8 - also, there are low end WP8 devices from as low as $69 new (ATT-locked 520, T-Mo locked 521)...)

I like the form factor though, kind of a shame, I miss vertical sliders.
WP7 is probably just an umbrella term and doesn't indicate whether its 7.5, 7.8, so I think you'll have to wait until you can power it on.

I personally don't know about that update thing. WP8 updates step-by-step, but its OTA, unlike 7.x.

Welcome aboard, you won't get anything new, and will miss many of the apps 8.x users enjoy, but its still a solid phone.
Let us know if you have any questions or issues.

SHildebrandt

Aug 4, 2014
Visit site
Hey Xandros, thanks for the info & greeting :). I am a bit of a smartphone tinkerer and am aware that updates for DVP stop at 7.8...... that's OK.... still looks cool as heck (and won't be my main phone).... I just want to get it as current as it can get.
Paid extra for accidental damage replacement in case I brick it ($19 for this $89 phone).... :)
Thanks again for your input

David P2

Mar 10, 2014
Visit site