Few general WP8 questions...

wpcautobot

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
Hello,

I'm new to WP8, from Android. I just got the 920! Great phone. I love WP8, but a few things seems more tedious than with using Android, with HTC Sense. I don't want to get into any arguments about whether Android skins are good or not. I'm really looking to better understand the great WP8 OS!

- In HTC Sense, I could select text and a fly-in button menu comes up allowing me to search the web, cut, copy, et . Does WP8 have the ability to quickly select text and send that text selection to a Bing, Maps, or other search? This is really helpful if I need directions from an address in email or from the web. (No way to select text message text yet in WP8)

- When I transfer a file via Bluetooth, where does it go?

- Is it possible to click on a phone number in text and call that number automatically, or have it pasted into the phone app? (This is sort of related to the functionality from the first question.)

- I'm having trouble understanding how to select text. Whole words are easy, but part of a word or inserting the character into the middle of a word is not clear to me. How do I do this?

I'm sure more will follow. Thanks to all those WP veterans to help out us newbies!

Dave Blake

Mod and Ambassador Team Emeritus
Jan 11, 2008
Visit site
In Internet Explorer you can select any text the tap the magnifying glass to start a web search. This only works in IE for text. If an address appears anywhere email, IE where ever it will be underlined tap the address will open maps. Same goes for phone numbers they will be underlined tap to open the phone dialog to either save the number or make the call.

I haven't tried Bluetooth transfer yet all my other devices are WP7 don't have that capability. I will trey when I get close to another device with BT transfer capabilities.