Is Nokia Drive getting upgraded for WP8 phones?

Mafiatounes

Sep 7, 2012
Visit site
Nokia Drive is really good! I agree it is missing some features on WP that are available on the Symbian platform and i would definitly like to see improvements also on my friends 710 it seems choppy when driving. I need to add that on prototype 920 devices Nokia Drive + was installed so it seems like a better version is coming soon.

Verstuurd van mijn Nexus 7 met Tapatalk

danferan

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
Out of curiosity, what don't you like about it? Is there specific functionality it's missing compared to Google Navigation?

evilrobot

Nov 8, 2010
Visit site
I've never used it before, but my wife uses it sometimes when I'm driving her to/around the city. The one thing I didn't like was that it doesn't read out the street names like my Tom Tom does. Don't know if there is a setting to make it do that or not though.

trickym81

Jan 30, 2012
Visit site
I've never used it before, but my wife uses it sometimes when I'm driving her to/around the city. The one thing I didn't like was that it doesn't read out the street names like my Tom Tom does. Don't know if there is a setting to make it do that or not though.
I wish it did that, that would be an excellent feature.

I also wish Nokia Drive, Maps, Transit, City Lens etc. would all be integrated into one program. Is that coming with WP8?

danferan

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
I live in Hawaii, so not reading the street names doesn't bother me; everyone not specifically from here mangles the pronunciations. I have to snicker every time I listen to Google Maps reading out the names.

As for integration - not a bad idea. Not a deal breaker or even particularly a negative for me, but I wouldn't mind it all being in one.

jkrc717

Aug 14, 2012
Visit site
Out of curiosity, what don't you like about it? Is there specific functionality it's missing compared to Google Navigation?