Help! AT&T Nokia Lumia 925 debrand, what is a good easy tutorial?

Xpress0705

Oct 23, 2015
Visit site
Help! AT&T Nokia Lumia 925 debrand

Hi.

I have an AT&T Lumia 925 that is still stuck on the Cyan firmware thanks their awesome firmware deployment. I would like to debrand the phone to a generic firmware so I can update it to Denim and later W10m.

Can anyone please link the easiest tutorial for doing so? I mean is there a specific one for Lumia 925?

I am a newbie concerning the flashing process and my PC is on Windows 10.

Thanks and best regards. :smile:

pankaj981

Jul 10, 2012
Visit site
Re: Help! AT&T Nokia Lumia 925 debrand

Unfortunately there isn't an easy way to achieve it. There is a theory that this might work so I am going to put it out there just in case you want to experiment.

So apparently, the firmware on the AT&T 925 can be debranded but for that you would need to first interop unlock the device and tinker with the registry and trick Microsoft's servers to download and install a different branded firmware (refer to this thread for proof, and it works!). Now to easiest way to interop unlock a 925 is to (this might sound cumbersome) first install WM10, then enable developer mode and install WP Root Tools (refer to this link), then click unlock all capabilities. Then install a registry editor and edit the following strings.

HKLM >> SYSTEM >> Platform >> DeviceTargetInfo >> PhoneMobileOperatorName >> 000-22 >> Write
HKLM >> SYSTEM >> Platform >> DeviceTargetInfo >> PhoneManufacturerModelName >> RM-893_lta_lta_204 >> Write

It should start downloading the unbranded LTA Denim firmware and eventually install. Going forward you can always use Nokia Product Support Tool to flash the unbranded LTA firmware again. To revert back you'll have to use Lumia Software Recovery Tool.

Xpress0705

Oct 23, 2015
Visit site

Thanks for replying.