[Beta] EmiPSX - Sony PlayStation (PSone) emulator

Roman Ekaterininsky

Jul 16, 2013
Visit site
Just got the beta how is everyone downloading the games straight from there phone im having problems getting games onto my 1020.

Download your ROM (image file) through IE or any other app that can download the file then open it in other app. Large files downloading directly from emulator SkyDrive browser is broken for now.

EdSherriff

Mar 21, 2013
Visit site
would it be possible to have a feature of saving save states / memory card to skydrive? in theory allowing users to pick up where they left of on a pc emulator such as epsxe, load the same save game on emipsx and play on the bus to work. would be a nice usp if possible at all

I'm no developer but I'm pretty sure this should be possible because VBA8 (gb advance emulator) already has this feature

Having compatibility between save states and even memory cards cross platform is harder to achieve than it sounds. Firstly many emulators use the Zlib compression library to compress their save states, AFAIK Zlib isn't available on Windows Phone. Second most of the popular PSX emulators on PC are closed source (ePSXe for example) so even if their save states weren't compressed with zlib then the format wouldn't be known (memory card compatibility would probably be achievable with a bit reverse engineering assuming they aren't compressed).

As with most things in an emulator what sounds like an easy feature to implement is in fact not and would require more time than you expect. Time that could be spent on other extremely important things such as improving game compatibility and performance.

lsoneboy333

Jul 14, 2013
Visit site