Battery life after switching to Windows 10 Home

sahmad88

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Windows 10 S. My battery life dropped by half after switching to Windows Home. I don't remember the exact numbers, but I had something like an estimated 9 hours and 47 minutes in Windows 10 S at 100% battery. After switching, my batter dropped to 4 hours and something. Now, only after 5 minutes, it dropped to 3 hours and 32 minutes with 95% batter left. Do these numbers sound right?

Dropbox is the killer for me. I think I could make do in Windows 10 S, but I need dropbox. I tried the Windows Store version, but it isn't nearly as functional and fluid as the desktop app.

jnjroach

Apr 24, 2014
Visit site
This has always been the issue with Win32 Apps, they are designed for desktop environments. For me Outlook and Skype for Business and Teams are my battery killers...

S Mode because it relies on UWP Apps which are designed around mobility they battery life is sustainable.

Now, you may be able to tweak the settings of Dropbox so that it isn't doing real-time synching, see if it has an asynchronous mode.

sahmad88

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Originally posted by jnjroach
This has always been the issue with Win32 Apps, they are designed for desktop environments. For me Outlook and Skype for Business and Teams are my battery killers...

S Mode because it relies on UWP Apps which are designed around mobility they battery life is sustainable.

Now, you may be able to tweak the settings of Dropbox so that it isn't doing real-time synching, see if it has an asynchronous mode.