09-15-2017 04:05 PM
47 12
tools
    I am a photographer and using a SP3 8Go core i7 and this is great.
    I am using Capture One Pro 10. At home, it is docked and i have a 27" DELL calibrated screen.
    Otherwise, i am using it in tablet mode as it is very fast and indeed faster with the pen as with a mouse. You can pan and zoom with touch, move the sliders and maje the mask with pen.
    For me, there is no question that for photo editing (where you do not need crazy power), a touch 2-in-1 is vastly SUPERIOR to a Mac, without a doubt. Honestly, with the current line up, where you need to spend 500€ more on the MacPro with TB to have slightly more power and you still do not have touch and pen which are very beneficial for photo editing, i cannot image why someone would choose a Mac but the hardest Apple fanboy.

Also, knowing the current SP, even the core i5 is more than 50% faster than mine, i do not think there is any issue whatsoever.

Highly recommended for sure.
    07-10-2017 12:31 PM
    One thing that kept me from jumping to other OS is "Menu / Context Key" or shift-f10 (and various short-cut combinations).
    Try type "aple" and hit Space, how do you correct it?
    1. move you cursor from across the screen -> right click -> move cursor to the top of the list -> left click?
    or
    2. press Left -> press Menu Key -> (depends on os version you might need to hit Down) -> hit Enter?
    Except graphical softwares (adobe xxx, 3dsMax), I can operate Windows, dialog, chrome, edge, visual studio, office, etc without pointing devices.

Back to the topic, I'm no pro photographer, but I do use Photoshop and Illustrator. Giving some time to adapt... Surface Pen and Fingers do work well IMO.
    Last edited by Hirox K; 07-10-2017 at 11:19 PM.
    07-10-2017 02:10 PM
    Peta Pixel had a write up about this very subject, the photographer was using the Surface Pro on location and liked the experience:
    https://petapixel.com/2017/06/15/rev...photographers/